Beginning a 10 gallon FOWLR tank. Help!!!

1. personman Initiate Member

Hello all,
    I am a complete saltwater noob and I would like some tips and pointers for starting a 10 gallon FOWLR tank.( I am aware that smaller is more difficult but I won't buy another tank until the dollar per gallon sale at Petco. I need all the help I can get. Here is what I have and what I'm going to get.
    What I Have
    -10 Gallon Tank
    -LED hood( I want to get an anemone, should I upgrade or can I feed it?)
    -Fluorescent Hood
    -Aqua-Tech 20-40(Can/should I use?)
    -Heater
    -Prime water conditioner
    -Freshwater test kit
    -Jungle Start right water conditioner with aloe and stress coat
    What I Might/Will Buy
    -Powerhead (Do I need one or is the flow from my filter sufficient?)
    -Protein Skimmer(Do I NEED one and if so what type is best/cheapest for me?)-Will buy live sand and 10 lbs live rock
    -What is the best/ cheapest salt to get
    -2 Clownfish (Can I get an Onyx and put it with an ocellaris in the same tank and can they live in the same anemone?)
    - A non agressive fish that will live with the clownfish but is used to cycle the tank.

I have the filter cycled in freshwater, will it work?
    Will My tank work with Tap water?
    ANYTHING else I need to know PLEASE tell me!!!!

Many thanks, Personman

2. Cef Member Member

Subbing,

3. personman Initiate Member

Can you contribute anything?

4. ryanr Moderator Moderator Member

Hi,
    Being perfectly honest, I would not suggest a 10G for SW. Yes smaller is more difficult to keep stable, but it's more that the stocking options are very limited. Personally, I wouldn't put clowns in anything less than 20G.

Freshwater test kit - which one? If it's the API, you can just get the SW colour charts, and you'll be ok. But you cannot use the FW cards, as the colours are different, and would give you false readings.