Beginner's tank... overstocked ?

h4nd

Reaction score
Hi... I am a beginner in freshwater tank.

I have 20galon tank, with:

* 1 (young) male and 2 females of swordtail
* 7 neon tetra
* 1 male betta splendens
* 1 albino pleco (+- 3 inch)
* 1 crayfish

The fishes looked very happy. They are very energetic and always roaming around the tank.
pH is 6.5

What do you think? Is my tank overstocked ? I have a plan to buy a small Black Ghost fish.
My tank is fully cycled now. And.. I think i am starting to have a Multi Tank Syndrome, so I plan to buy a 2nd tank

Butterfly

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Your tank looks good for now as far as stocking. Depending on what kind of albino plec you have as to whether it stays that way Some plecs get huge.
There definarely isn't room for a Black Ghose Knife fish in that tank, they also need specific conditions met in their tank.
Welcome to fishLore. Stop in at the welcome forum and let us welcome you properly.
Carol

Isabella

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
If your pleco stays at 3", you should leave your tank just the way it is. I wouldn't add anymore fish to it. It seems fully stocked already (if not a bit overstocked). Plecos can grow very large, so find out what is the adult size of your pleco.

Richard

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Ghostfish, since they don't have scales, are extremely sensitive during water-changes, and do well with sand-substrates when it comes to eating..gravel-substrates can be tough on them even if you go for a small grain..also be careful which tank you place yours in, I'm thinking because Ghostfish have long flowing pelvic-fins, a Betta tank-mate may not be a good idea...my best advice would be to do extensive research on Ghostfish requirements, and then stock your second tank, when you purchase it, with the perfect tank-mates for him along with a sand-substrate.

chickadee

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years