Beginner's small tank

paulus

Reaction score
I'm new to this so please bear with me - I'm so glad I found this informative site. So I've just purchased what the shop assistant described as a brilliant starter tank. Having since discovered this site and read various guides me thinks I was lied to!! Anyhow, I am left with a 6 gallon tank with undergravel filtration. pH = 7.0, temp =25C, and I have just started fishless cycling using food flakes. I shall be buying a water test kit soon to monitor progress. Assuming all goes well, I am after some advice on the best types of fish and numbers of fish for this small tank. I was thinking along the lines of 6 cherry barbs and a couple of platys or a betta- is this too many fish? Any suggestions on what fish and numbers which would be suitable for my tank would be most welcome.

Tumbleweed

Well Known
Reaction score
First off welcome to Fishlore. And as to your question, that would be too many fish. The rule of thumb is 1inch of adult fish per gallon. In a 6 gallon you could get 3-4 cherry barbs as they get up to 2 inch when adults. You could get 1 Betta, or 6 Tettras of any sort. Keep in mind however that 1inch of fish a gallon is a gereneral rule. You should not get 1 6inch fish for this tank as it will be too large for the tank. Hope this helps in any way.

Brian

0morrokh

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Sorry to disagree, but I would not keep any barbs or tetras in a 6 gallon. They are active fish and need room to swim around, as well as enough room for at least 6 individuals. Also, I wouldn't keep Platys in anything less than 10 gallons because they are active too, although I guess you could if you really wanted to. With a tank that size I would recommend a Betta, and then maybe a few small catfish or a snail. (see the Betta section for Betta info)