Beginner With Some Questions

1. ltwh13 Initiate Member

Hi Everyone!

I kept a few betta when I was kid a now we're back at it again. This time with some horrible advice from the pet store. I've been doing a lot of online research the past few weeks, but I need to know a bit more.

We started out with a 1 gal tank and 2 neon tetras. The pet store said cycling and water testing weren't needed. The first fish died, so we took it back to the store and they suggested a Corydora instead. We brought him home and I tried to acclimate him as well as I could in the small tank. The other tetra started to die and the cory finished him off. We ended up with a lonely cory and went to the pet store to get another one to keep him company. (This was before I realized how sensitive corys are). They didn't have any corys at the pet store and this time suggested a pictus catfish. We brought him home that evening (Sunday) and I realized he was WAY to big for our tank. (Stupid I know, but I'm new at this). I spent that night researched fish keeping, learnt all about the nitrogen cycle, cycling a tank, and water testing. I knew we needed a bigger tank. The next morning (yesterday) we went and got a 10 gal with a stand, filter, and bigger heater. We went to a new pet store and they said I wouldn't have to cycle if I used some plants and Seachem's stability. I used Prime to treat the water and set everything up. I tried to get the water as close to 78 from the tap so it wouldn't take long to heat. After everything was set up, I added the stability and put the ammonia alert inside the tank. After half an hour it said the ammonia was safe. I added the fish (1 cory and 1 pictus if you're lost). We also have a moss ball in the tank, I'm hoping it helps to oxygenate and aid with the good bacteria.

Today they didn't seem to be doing that well. Rapid breathing and weird swimming patterns. I'm thinking my next step is water testing. I added the airstone from our 1 gal to this tank.