Beginner With 0 Experience Need Help!

Gursher Nakai
Hi! So this is my first time posting a thread on Fishlore, and I really need help on deciding what type of aquarium to get. I have absolutely no experience with fish tanks, and although I have done some research, I still have a ton of questions so here it goes.

1. Freshwater or Saltwater? I realize that this is the Saltwater Beginner forum, but that's because I'm leaning towards a Saltwater tank because of the stunning colors it can produce. But I've also heard a saltwater tank is way too hard for beginners, and freshwater is the way to go.

2. What tank size should I get? I have space for up to a 90 gallon tank, and I have heard bigger is better generally, but what is a good beginner for both saltwater and freshwater?

3. Which has been harder, a reef tank or a planted tank for anyone who has kept them both? (P.S. Is trimming the plants in a planted tank as hard as people say it is?)

4. Other than Oscars, what fish can I get that shows an interesting personality and recognise their owners? Also, I never knew you could hand feed fish! So please take that into consideration when recommending a fish.

That pretty much sums up all the questions I have. I'm sorry if any of these questions are hard to answer, but as I have said above, I have no experience with fish tanks, and any help would be greatly appreciated!
Sincerely,

A Newbie

BottomDweller
1) freshwater is a lot easier. You have less parameters you have to keep on top of. You can generally stock a lot more fish. Also you don't have to deal with bristleworms which I find terrifying.