Beginner stocking 29 Gallon Tank

1. AquaMelody Initiate Member

Hi, I am a beginner with stocking questions. My profile info is up to date. Currently we have three male guppies, two male swordtails, one female platy, and five bloodfin tetras. Is this stocking OK? We are thinking about adding a dwarf gourami as the centerpiece. Any advice will be appreciated.

2. Anders247 Fishlore Legend Member

My gourami was fine with my mollies, you may want to get the most peaceful looking one, though.
    The tetras may nip at the guppies or gouramis fins.

3. Crissandra331 Member Member

I wouldn't add a Gourami, They prefer soft acidic water while most of your other fish prefer a higher pH and more alkaline water. Right now you have very peaceful fish in your community. Gouramis are less aggressive when kept single but they still are not the most peaceful fish. You could add one and try it out but think your community would be happier with out one. :)

Good Luck

4. AquaMelody Initiate Member

Thank you for your replies. So maybe Gouramis is not a good idea. I'm glad I didn't impulse buy one last week - I saw a really beautiful flame gouramis at the LFS. Any other bigger fish would fit? I'd like to have a centerpiece. Right now all the fishes are small to medium. Thank you!

5. Anders247 Fishlore Legend Member

German Blue Ram?

6. Crissandra331 Member Member