Beginner Seeking Advice on Stocking 38 Gallon Bow Front

RonnieRambo

Greetings. I am a newbie seeking advice on stocking a Marineland 38 Gallon Bow Front tank (tall rather than long) with a Pengiun 200 filter and aquarium sand substrate. I have an initial list that might be too heavy. I would really appreciate some feedback on the overall pairings and any alternative suggestions. Also, if the load is too much for my tank where should I trim? Thanks in advance!

Top:
8 Silver Hachets

Middle:
2 Angelfish
8 Cardinal Tetras or 8 Velvet Wag Swordtails or 8 Long Fin Red Minor Tetras

Bottom:
4-6 KuhlI Loach
1 Dwarf Gourami

superbutterfly12

If you're doing swordtails I think I would only stock one male and two or three females. They are livebearers so I'm sure you'll soon have tons but I would expect the parents and angelfish to eat enough fry to keep you from getting too wildly overstocked.

RonnieRambo

Good to know. Maybe I'll skip the swordtails in favor of the Tetras. Thanks for the tip!

Aichmalotizo

RonnieRambo said:
Greetings. I am a newbie seeking advice on stocking a Marineland 38 Gallon Bow Front tank (tall rather than long) with a Pengiun 200 filter and aquarium sand substrate. I have an initial list that might be too heavy. I would really appreciate some feedback on the overall pairings and any alternative suggestions. Also, if the load is too much for my tank where should I trim? Thanks in advance!

Top:
8 Silver Hachets

Middle:
2 Angelfish
8 Cardinal Tetras or 8 Velvet Wag Swordtails or 8 Long Fin Red Minor Tetras

Bottom:
4-6 KuhlI Loach
1 Dwarf Gourami
GouramI is definitely not a bottom dweller. It's an anabantoid and very similar to the Betta. It'll spend most of the time up top. Would probably be better to go with red minor over cardinal, Cardinals are pretty close to natural angel prey. It works sometimes, sometimes you make a Cardinal graveyaex.