Beginner Plants In Gravel Question

Discussion in 'Aquarium Plants' started by Hyler, Mar 20, 2010.

1. HylerNew MemberMember

Hello everyone,

This is my first time on the forums, and it's great to be here. I am a newbie fish keeper and I have a lot of questions, but I'll start with just one.

I am trying to set up my 10 gallon freshwater tank with plants as I am not a very big fan of artificial, plastic decorations. I have what I would call medium-sized gravel in there (I'd estimate an average pebble size of about 1/4 inch) with a depth of just about 2.5 inches.

I also have fluorescent lighting, 15 W and 8,000K color temperature, according to the bulb.

I would like to add plants that are suitable for a beginner in that they are fairly easy to grow and keep alive. However, I do not want my plants to be floating around the tank, I want them planted in the gravel. There is a fish store close by and they have a setup exactly like what I have in mind—beautiful plants firmly rooted in the gravel—albeit in a far larger tank, so I know there must be some vegetation that does that.

What advice can you guys give me? What should I get and how should I keep it? Also, assuming that I am successful in this, how do I clean the gravel once things are growing? Carefully around the plants or not at all? Questions, questions...

Oh, I have four Cherry Barbs in there right now, with plans to add a few more, if that makes a difference.

Thank you everyone!

- George

EDIT: Gravel size was incorrectly listed as being 1/2 inch. The post has been edited to correctly reflect gravel size of 1/4 inch.

Last edited: Mar 20, 2010
  2. xxSTEPHENSxxValued MemberMember

Hello and welcome to Fishlore!!

I am new to plants myself so I will let someone else give advice about that.

Do you know about the Nitrogen cycle? You said you had some cherry barbs.

3. HylerNew MemberMember

Jaime,