Beginner Planted Tank - Stocking, Substrate, etc ??

plantedstudent

HI all, long time lurker here but I finally decided to join! I am a student in college, and got the biggest tank allowed - 20 gallon long. I've been doing a lot of research, and would love input/advice for my thoughts on how to get going with this tank!

Stocking: 2 (1M1F) GBR, 1 honey gourami, 8-10 zebra danios, 6-8 panda corys, 6 amano shrimp, and 4 nerite snails
- would love advice on time frame for adding in these fish, I obviously won't be adding them all in at once but which should go first, how long to wait in between, etc.

Plants (starting with foreground and moving to background): (idea 1) java moss, anubias nana, green wendtii, jungle val, aponogeton, wisteria, valliseria asiatica
(idea 2) parva, red and green wendtii, undulata, spiralis, balansae, bacopa

Substrate: pool filter sand (brand advice?) and easy root tabs (aquarium co-op)

General supplies: Pennplex cascade 200 filter with a pre filter, bio rings, and a sponge pad; Nicrew ClassicLED 30-36, Orlushy 100W heater, Tetra pump vacuum, Seachem prime dechlorinator.

Again, I'm a total newbie (except for a dearly departed betta fish from elementary school - RIP Hermione), and welcome any advice! I am especially curious about lids - do I need one, where to get one/make one - and substrate - want to make sure my corys are ok, but also my plants aren't suffocating.

Thank you!

WetRootsNH

I'm partial to idea 2 for the plants. but I just love crypts.
Any pool filter sand that says its 100% silica sand should be fine. Specific just make sure it doesn't contain any aglaecides or antimicrobials.
Keep in mind that color can vary between brands so you may want to look for a specific tint if you want white or tan.
I'm not big on lids myself. Never had a fish jump but I've never had species that are known to be inclined to do so.

Upvote 0

Chanyi

1) Find a local breeder for rams, the ones found in the store are no good genetically.