Beginner in the hobby, needs help with stock ideas for a Marineland 75 gallon!

1. NESQUIK Initiate Member

Hello! I'm a beginner in the hobby, and soon I'm receiving a Marineland 75G aquarium with these dimensions: 18"L x 48"W x 21"H. I've done a lot of research into how to care for an aquarium, proper setup, cycling, etc.; stocking, however, is still a huge thing in my mind. I do have a stocking idea, but I'm not sure if the stock works for a 75G. If possible, I'd love to have the aquarium a tropical, freshwater, planted community tank!

Stock Idea #1:

10 Harlequin Rasbora
    6 to 8 Zebra Danio
    1 Bristlenose Pleco (I wanted the Starlight variety, but they seem to need blackwater...)
    6 Bronze or other species of Corydoras
    3 Honey Gourami (Two females to one male?)
    1 South American Bumblebee Catfish

I didn't know if I could add anything else or remove anything. Currently I live in a loft, and its difficult to cool the place; temperatures in my room usually stay around 80 degrees Fahrenheit, and I don't know if that would be a problem. I also have almost no clue when it comes to plants in the tank...

Any help is appreciated, thank you for viewing!
    :;hi2

2. aliray Fishlore VIP Member

Welcome to the forum and glad you joined us TexasDomer is good with stocking , she can probably help you. :;hi1Alison

3. tyguy7760 Fishlore VIP Member

If your temp is going to be that high during the summers (I have the same problem) then you are going to be limited to warm water fish. The danios like it cooler so you will want to switch them out for something like rummynose tetra or cardinal tetras. There are plenty of others as well. 80 is a little warm for bn pleco as well. Switch it out for a clown pleco.

You also have the room to up your cories to about 8 or 10

4. NESQUIK Initiate Member