Beginner in need of advice

bodieman
ok so I'm a fish newbie and got a 10 gal tank and a redtailed black shark for it. is that to small for him on his own? any filter suggestions... I just have the one that came with the tank and doubt its ability. I have a air pump with a air stone that my sister already had but think its to small for my tank what is the norm for a 10 gal tank as far as air goes? I also am worried bout the temp. my thermometer says its about 78 how warm is to warm and how do you cool if that's the case. and any feeding tips? I'm using omega one marine pellets and am not sure hes eating them. I'm mixing a little flake food as well to be safe. or any other tips or suggestions that you think might help. thanks..

fishbum
As long as that is all you keep,than it should be OK in a 10 gallon.I personally use Penguin 150 on all my 10 gallon tanks.I find the filters that come with tank kits are usually inadequate.If there is a Pet Smart near you,go to their web site,find the filter you want there,print it off then take it into the store,I can tell you the last filter I got cost $30 in the store and $18 dollars on line.With the print out with me,the store honored the internet price.Since you are new to the hobby,almost everything you need is cheaper on the net,than in the stores,and most will give you the net price as long as you have the printed page with the price on it with you.
As far as the temp goes,78 degrees is perfect.Do you have a heater?This will keep the water temp at a steady level.As long as your home does not get over 85 degrees,than there shouldn't be any worries about your fish getting too hot.
Feed it regular tropical fish flakes,and it will also eat frozen foods.Frozen blood worms and brine shrimp would add a nice variety to its diet.There are also sinking shrimp pellets he would probably enjoy also.

0morrokh
Welcome to Fishlore!!