Beginner Betta

1. thewanderingunicorn Initiate Member

Hey there!
    I'm fairly new to fish, and I've been doing some research on bettas. (I had one, but had him in a tiny 1gal tank and gave him to a friend who had a 10gal)
    I'm wanting to do a 10gal planted tank, with a Betta and some shrimp, but I have no idea where to begin other than that!
    Feel free to link to other threads, blogs, etc.!
    Just trying to learn as much as a can before I start buying things.
    Thanks!

2. Lchi87 Fishlore VIP Member

Welcome! :)

First thing is to read up on the nitrogen cycle for sure.

Next:
    -Get a good testing kit and dechlorinator (API master Test Kit and Seachem Prime are highly recommended)
    -Decide how you want to cycle your tank (fishless, with fish..?)
    -Start that cycle!

In the mean time..
    -Research what plants you'd like so you purchase the correct substrate, lighting and supplements

That should be good to start off with; keep us posted!

3. jdhef Moderator Moderator Member

Welcome to FishLore!

On my computer screen (I don't know if this will be the same for others) your screen name is broken into two lines at a very unfortunate location. Luckily, you're a female, a guy would never live this one down.

But for those who don't have the screen name broken in two for me it looks like the following:
    thewanderingunic
    orn

Anyway, you got a good answer above, but of course feel free to ask any and all questions you may have. This is a very friendly, respectful forum and no one will make you feel stupid for any question you may have.

4. Silister Trench Well Known Member Member