20 Gallon Tank Been An Eventful 2 Days Here

Zai

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Had some storms on Friday, tornado warnings included. I'm assuming my water plant treated the water or something got in it, but I'm new to fish so it didn't occur to me to think of checking my tap water Saturday morning.
Checked all my levels, noticed an elevated ammonia level in the cycled tank (only .25), Fridays are water change day but with the storms ongoing it got delayed so Saturday was by default water change day anyways so no big deal, I'd drop the .25 down with my weekly 50% wc.
An hour or 2 after the water change my giant ramshorn snail George starts acting odd. Normally he does rounds around the tank, pauses at the top for some air, then continues on his way. Well he was staying at the top, face and antennae tucked into his shell. Not typical George. So being the concerned parent I am,I checked my water levels. They're at .5. I'm completely boggled before I think to check my tap.
Sure enough it's at 1ppm ammonia.
Cue getting about 12 gallons of bottled water from my local grocery store and using those to change the water. Refilled the bottles from my fridge filter (which was ammonia free but too cold for the tank) and setting them in the hallway to warm up for today).
Well the mishaps continue today bc somehow my heater for that tank came unplugged. I double check everything after a water change to make sure its plugged in so idk when it happened. Went to feed them and see their temp us at about 73-74 when they normally stay at a 78. Luckily they can all survive colder temps but still wasn't enjoying yet another mishap xD
Doing another water change with clean water to clear out the remaining .25 ammonia from yesterday (I dosed everything with prime) after Easter festivities.