Bdbs And What Fert?

spike98

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I want to use BDBS as my top substrate and to cap a Fert in my 29 gallon. I would like any recommendations on a good fert that would work well with BDBS. Additionally, I was wondering what my heights for the substrate and fert should be?

DarkOne

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I'm in the middle of a test for 2 swords, one in bdbs with root tabs and another in organic potting mix capped with bdbs (no tabs). So far, the plant with tabs is doing better. All my root feeding plants are doing great with root tabs and just bdbs.

spike98

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Do the tabs need replaced occasionally or are they fairly permanent? Is it nicer if you need to relocate plants, as you won't have to worry about fert being stirred up? Sorry for all the questions I'll probably ask, just want to cover everything since I'm new to the plant scene.

Thunder_o_b

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
spike98 said:
Do the tabs need replaced occasionally or are they fairly permanent? Is it nicer if you need to relocate plants, as you won't have to worry about fert being stirred up? Sorry for all the questions I'll probably ask, just want to cover everything since I'm new to the plant scene.
That depends on the tabs. I use SeaChem and replace them every 3 months. Several of our aquariums have BDBS. Keep the substrate under 3" to avoid anaerobic bacteria that produces hydrogen sulfide gas.

I also use several SeaChem liquid additives.

spike98

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I heard it helps to poke the substrate to prevent gas build up? Would I do this by going around in a pattern up and down the tank or would just poking a few spots be just as sufficient?

DarkOne

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years