Barbs keep scraping sides on rocks

ocelot1120
I have a 55 gallon tank with a large bala shark, 1 red tail, 1 convict cichlid, 5 tiger barbs, 2 plecos, 1 red clawed crab. I'm new to fish care so I just recently got the water where it should be about a month ago. I corrected an outrageous nitrite problem about two weeks ago, and since then my barbs have been scraping against the rocks very frequently. I keep hearing that this is bad but no one actually says what rubbing against the rocks means. my other fish do it occasionally but the barbs are relentless. there are no spots, strange behavior (other than that), or any other syptoms that i've read about so far. the only problems I can find with my water is the hardness is very high. does anyone have any ideas? thanks

susitna-flower
Strange...:;z:;z:;z

OH, WELCOME TO FISHLORE ! Want to say that first, cause we really do like new people to join, and the rest of what I have to tell you gets hard....

Your fish are flashing....this is done usually when they are infested with parasites....You don't have to be able to see them. Often they can be in the gills...

#1 problem is that your tank is GROSSLY over crowded.

What kind of plecos do you have?...You've enough fish (not counting the crab) to overcrowd a 75 gallon tank.

The rule of thumb is to count fish as if they are adults. 1" of adult size per gallon of tank (not the same for fat fish - broad/thick fish like bala sharks). They need even more room...

So your tank counts are over 75, if the plecos are common plecos.

The fish you have in here now, in my opinion, would be better split between the tank you currently have and a much larger tank.