Bamboo shrimps first molt!

• Thread starter wtusa1783
  • Start date

wtusa1783

Well Known
I came home today and saw an exoskeleton. At first I thought he died but I then saw him and he was bright red! He is the most active I’ve ever seen. I was wondering why he was pale and not moving so much in the past few days. I’m guessing this is a good thing? Is there anything else I should do?

Attachments

Blueberrybetta

Well Known
Im no expert in shrimp, but I feel like some extra calcium wouldn't hurt him :)

Lswims11

wtusa1783 said:
I came home today and saw an exoskeleton. At first I thought he died but I then saw him and he was bright red! He is the most active I’ve ever seen. I was wondering why he was pale and not moving so much in the past few days. I’m guessing this is a good thing? Is there anything else I should do?
i love your shrimp he is very pretty. how do you care for him and what other fish do you keep in the tank. wondering as i love shrimp but are unsure of care.

Desi

It looks like he had a very good, clean molt. Making sure parameters are stable and he has a good diet are the two main things. If there’s fish in the tank make sure there’s plenty of hiding spaces.
After molting shrimp are very vulnerable as there exoskeleton will be very thin and flimsy for a little while,

richiep

Fishlore VIP
Desi is right you are not doing anything wrong i'd just like to add why he was pale its all down to pre moult when this happens you get a layer of water between the outer shell and the inner one this helps the old moult to come off easy and can give the shrimp a paler look

wtusa1783

Well Known
Blueberrybetta said:
Im no expert in shrimp, but I feel like some extra calcium wouldn't hurt him :)
Ok how would I give it to him? Why does he need extra?

wtusa1783

Well Known
Lswims11 said:
i love your shrimp he is very pretty. how do you care for him and what other fish do you keep in the tank. wondering as i love shrimp but are unsure of care.