Bala

1. Jan Member Member

Hello everyone, I am a newbie to this board and to the fish world. I started an aquarium about 4 months ago. It is 10 gallons. All of the fish that I have purchased have perished, I presently have a redtail shark that seems to be the most hardy as he is still alive(I have had him for about 3 months). I recently purchased 3 balas and just today one of them died.

I don't know all of the correct terminology when it comes to the tank so please bear with me in my explanation. I have a filter that has the sponge and carbon (I think that this may be the Interal box filter?). I also have another thingy that is green and bubbles come out! (Excuse my lack of knowledge here) I am also testing for N03 and N02's the N02s are perfect (clear). The N03 are around 10-20.

Last night the Bala seems to be vertical alot and I thought that there must be something wrong with him but my lack of experience left things at that. When I saw him dead today and another of my bala's doing the 'vertical' as well got me scared.

All three of them are babies, no bigger than a small goldfish, so I am hoping that it is not the tank size. I try to change the water whenever the N03s go over 10, maybe ever week and a half.

I love my bala's does anyone have any suggestions for me to save the last two?

2. Gunnie Well Known Member Member

Hi Jan!  Welcome to Fishlore!  I'm afraid your tank is overstocked and is probably not cycled, which is probably part of the problem.  Here is a link to some articles which will help you understand the basics to starting up a tank.  Check them out and make sure you are doing all this. 

http://fishlore.com/Forum/index.php?topic=620.0