Bad Shape, Java Fern? Help

Discussion in 'Aquarium Plants' started by JamieLu, Apr 12, 2019.

1. JamieLuValued MemberMember

I went to the lfs today to get some hornwort and java fern. They gave me a monsterous amount of great hornwort and i asked for a java fern. Well my 3 yr old was running around like a mad man so i had to go stop him from wrecking the place. Anyway, when i got home and unpacked the hornwort, i saw this pathetic thing. Maybe a windelov java? Not what i wanted but whateves, my fault for not watching the guy pick it out of the tank. Id appreciate if someone can help me since im new to plants, its obviously not in good shape. Is it too far gone? Do i pull off dead leaves? How can i help this poor plant? Thx all! 1555097901152-1101366280.jpg

2. TheBettaSushiWell Known MemberMember

I’d cut the dead leaves off at the rhizome, give it some good fert (micro and macro nutrients) and give it time to establish in your tank. You’ll see little black dots on the underside of the mother leaves and it will grow new plants.

3. JamieLuValued MemberMember

Ok thank u, is the rhizome supposed to look like that? Its almost all black at the bottom. I have it in a cycling tank, should i put it in my established one? Sorry, im a newbie

4. MD_PlantsWell Known MemberMember

Yep that’s a windelov. Plant it and give it a root tab and it’ll take off.

5. JamieLuValued MemberMember

Well the whole reason i wanted a java is cuz i thought that they could be anchored instead of planted? Is that not the case with this one? I dont have any root tabs but i guess i may need some now. I really appreciate ur help and time!

6. MJohnsonValued MemberMember

I was under the impression that they are not supposed to be planted either. Mine is attached to some Mopani driftwood.

7. RSababadyWell Known MemberMember

My Java ferns are all anchored with roots in the water and not buried in the sand.