bacteria and pH ?'s

Nybbles

Reaction score
ok, n00b here with my first tank....

anyway, been reading a bunch online and in books and have a couple questions....

1) pH out of the tap here is a little on the basic side; I have a 6-in-1 test strip thing and it appears my pH is hi-7's, maybe even up to low-8's. It's kinda hard to be too exact because the strips cover a very wide range of the pH spectrum. I know there are chemicals that can raise or lower pH, but the book (link) I'm reading recommends trying to stay away from these additives.

It looks like the fish I'm looking at prefer more neutral to slightly acidic water (i.e. tetra's). What do you guys think? Do I need a better testing kit so I can better tell exactly where it's at? Are there any easy, natural ways to lower the pH? I've seen mention of some more advanced ways but I'm a beginner and hoping to keep it simple. Should I even worry about it? Ideas?

2) Regarding good bacteria and the nitrogen cycle... I have a simple PetSmart (TopFin) 20 gal starter kit. It comes with a standard hang-on-the-back filter kit. I've also read quite a bit about bio-filters and NH3, NO2, NO3, etc.... it's my understanding that good bacteria will live in your filter. My concern is that when it comes time to change the filter, I'll lose a significant portion of my good bacteria. Is this a concern? Or will there be enough good bacteria growing on the gravel?

Any thoughts or advice? Thanks.

Isabella

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 years