Back into the hobby after 20 years

therealpatricksnyder

HI everyone, just wanted to shoot out an introduction. I'm Pat and I'm back into the hobby after a 20 year hiatus. Last time I had fish was as a kid and lets face it my Dad was taking care of things behind the scenes so it's been a lot of rude awakenings and learning over the past year as I'm "diving" back in...pun intended.

So to shorten this up here's a bit about me, my setup, my skill level, my goals.

I'm in my 30's, and have a few other pets hanging around the house but thought fish would be a nice addition. By day I'm a technology product expert for a big mortgage company and by night I dig into all sorts of unique hobbies. I've done photography, skateboarding, magic, puzzles, guitar, LEGO, model building, RC cars, rock climbing, and hiking, a few have stuck with me, others have lost my interest but all have been great learning experiences. Currently the passion is the aquarium hobby because of its interaction, rewards, and its longevity and relaxing effects. I've always been an anxious person so its a nice way to study, research, work on a project, and especially sit back and watch to relax. I'm also ADHD so having a hobby that is always requiring maintenance and is ripe for change is awesome! Plus being able to hyperfocus on research is a good outlet for my energy.

I am a research junkie. We are talking 3am forum digging, youtube marathons, books, google, and of course good old experimentation. I try to support my findings with facts but at the end of the day I rely on my personal experience and common sense. I'm always open to feedback and corrections and hints to hone my craft. If I say something dumb I don't mind getting the right information from someone who knows better so that I know better for next time.

Setup wise I'm running a 37, 38, and a 5.
37 Gallon