Baby Angel Fry Help

1. quarterback13 Member Member

I will start at beginning.

About 3 weeks ago I noticed something on a piece of my driftwood and at a closer look I saw what appeared to be crystals. I was to find they were Angel eggs. I have 1 very large common angel and 2 large golden angels. They unfortunately ate the egss after a few days. This happened 2 more times in the next 2 weeks. But then on the 4th try i noticed the eggs were moving on the wood and the after another day they were actually swimming . I watched in awe as I have no experience with such and never expected babies. I watched as all 3 angels guarded the fry intensily. But despite there brave attempts they were losing a few each day . After the 3rd day I called Big Al's for advice and was told to buy a breeding net and put them into it to keep them safe from the other fish in the community. I did this on their advice.

Well, 4 hours later they are all dead in the breeding net. I had fed them the newborn food big al's advised.

I wish I had come here for advice first but unfortunately i didn't.

If they lay more eggs in future . What is best thing to do. Please help as I really would love to experience them grow into adults with my grandchildren who are now very disappointed and upset. I feel very bad and sad. I feel I was responsible for their deaths and the adults appear very sad.

2. dvc_r Well Known Member Member

If your Angels are just first starting to spawn, and if all conditions are right, it may take them a few times before they get it right (practice makes perfect).

But:

If you have "Mom & Dad" in a community tank either one of two things will happen. One, the other fish will find a way to eat them or two, the parents will think they can't rise them in a safe environment so they'll eat them before the others find a way!