Auto Fish Feeders?

raif281

40gl breeder tank about to start cycling next week. anybody have any luck with auto fish feeders? I'm often gone all weekend at the camp working or at a buddies or girlfriends house. also with college starting back up I won't be getting home till 9pm most days after leaving for work at 6:30 every morning. saw some diy but I'm not tech savvy enough to make my own. I've read up on a few cheaper ones that had bad reviews. just wondering if anyone has had a good experience with any auto fish feeder or maybe one you made yourself. thanks for the input in advance

TexasDomer

Are you talking about to help cycle your tank, or once the fish are in to feed them?

For feeding the fish, I think you would be fine feeding before you leave in the morning or when you get back at night. It's okay to not feed them on weekends too. I've heard some bad things about autofeeders (getting moldy, clogged, overfeeding), and it seems safer to feed yourself and let them go a few days without feeding when you're gone weekends. It won't hurt them.

raif281

Are you talking about to help cycle your tank, or once the fish are in to feed them?

For feeding the fish, I think you would be fine feeding before you leave in the morning or when you get back at night. It's okay to not feed them on weekends too. I've heard some bad things about autofeeders (getting moldy, clogged, overfeeding), and it seems safer to feed yourself and let them go a few days without feeding when you're gone weekends. It won't hurt them.

no not for cycling for feeding them. my ammonia to start my cycle should be in today. ok good to know, I've read on some sites the fish profiles say to feed them up to several times a day which I thought was really excessive. so once a day an no biggie if I can't on the weekends?

raif281