Auto Feeders, thoughts?

1. e_watson09 Well Known Member Member

With my birthday coming up I am hoping to upgrade some things on my tanks as well as get some stuff for my silly bird.

Does anyone have any experience with automatic feeders. I really think I want to get two for my 125 community. I never feed them more than once a day no matter how hard I try. Then I'm not a fan of doing such a big feeding. I'm considering having the auto feeder do a morning feeding of pellets and then I feed frozen or whatever when I get home.

Likes and dislikes with them?

2. Jaysee Fishlore Legend Member

I can't seem to feed my fish more than once a day either. Sometimes they don't even get that.

I have no experience with them. You've got enough tanks - isn't there anything else you can upgrade?

I'm super impressed with my LED lights for the 55.

3. plecodragon Well Known Member Member

You have to be careful with some auto-feeders as they can become clogged with fish food and moisture from the tank and then won' release the food. Another problem is regulating the amount of food released. Some release too much others to little. It can really pollute your tanks if not watched. I had one and it was hard to judge how much to release for the fish, you don' want to overfeed. If you do decide to get one don't skimp on one the cheaper ones.

4. Jaysee Fishlore Legend Member

I agree.

5. e_watson09 Well Known Member Member

Well I have a list but most I just do over time as it comes to me. I'm wanting light timers on ALL of my tanks, auto feeders on most, I need a powerhead for one of my salt tanks. I'm wanting more airpumps, more terra cotta pots. The list goes on and on. I just want to ensure my fish in my 125 get fed enough just because I have a couple big fish and a few that are pretty small. Don't want anyone getting eaten. :;bbq

I never thought about the moisture I wonder if all of them clog like that?

6. Jaysee Fishlore Legend Member