Assassin Snails And Blackmoors

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Don don, Jun 21, 2018.

1. D

Don don Valued Member Member

Hi everyone.
    I'm just wondering if anyone can help me. It would be appreciated. It might sound a daft question but I'm new to assassin snails lol. I will give you back ground info first.

Anyway I have set up a 55g tank about 2 months ago. It is ago sand bottom with quite a few plants. All water parameters are great. I do a 30% water change every 5-6 days. I have 3 gold cloud minnows and 2 white cloud minnows and they are doing fantastic. The 2 males are showing off the 3 females show off every now and again it's fascinating to watch. They are perfect.

When I got the plants I rinsed them and thought they had nothing on them but I was wrong. I ended up with a few bladder snails and I kept seeing more so I bought 2 assassin snails to deal with them. They are fine and Bury themselves in the sand and come out and go and round the tank etc.

I am about to put my blackmoor into the tank. He's only young yet about 5 months and about 3 inches. I'm taking my time moving him as he is my autistic sons fish and if anything happens to him I'm in big trouble! He generally sleeps at the bottom of the tank (always done this water is good it's just when he's resting he's all over the tank when awake). I know this is going to sound crazy but will the assassin snails go for him while he's asleep? Do I have to move them out or will he be fine with them?

Water parameters in 55g ammonia 0 nitrites 0 nitrates 15 gh 8 kh 7 ph 6.8

Water parameters in smaller one ammonia 0 nitrites 0 nitrates 20-25. Gh 8 kh 7 ph 6.8

Thank you for reading and sorry for the essay. I thought the more info you have the better!

2. Discus-Tang

Discus-Tang Well Known Member Member

It should be fine. They won't go after anything much bigger than them.do make sure to feed them and throw in some cuttlebone for their shells :)

3. OP
    OP
    D