YATT
20g long
80 degree F
pH 8-8.2
GH 3
KH 10
Ammonia 1.5
NO2/NO3 0

Here is why I’m asking. I’m new to the testing but I started this 5 days ago. I swear I was 3ppm ammonia. I saw a lighter color so I added more. Now it appears to be 1.5 ppm. No nitrite or nitrate. I realize it is a short time but ammonia seems to be changing or I’m screwing up the ammonia test.

I have no plants but wanted to buy some today. Starting with a couple crypts as they are tough but perhaps I shouldn’t do anything yet.

Thanks for advice.

If I hold away from card it is lighter

C09F97ED-CBCC-49C1-8F76-4014C0F48220.jpeg

If I press against cars it is darker

1F350E4A-A8D2-4228-A163-E37A58B66C86.jpeg

TadpoleMadtom
Have you had nitrate and nitrite yet?

YATT
Seasoldier
Hi, I'd say your cycle is in early days yet, when you add ammonia to get it to 4ppm & it goes down to 0 or 1 over 24 hours you'll be on the way & you should start seeing nitrites rising at that time & then again they'll drop & the nitrates will increase. You could put some plants in but as they'll use the nitrates as food it may screw your readings up a bit.

YATT
Hi, I'd say your cycle is in early days yet, when you add ammonia to get it to 4ppm & it goes down to 0 or 1 over 24 hours you'll be on the way & you should start seeing nitrites rising at that time & then again they'll drop & the nitrates will increase. You could put some plants in but as they'll use the nitrates as food it may screw your readings up a bit.

Maybe my understanding of the nitrogen cycle isn’t right. I thought if ammonia disappears it turns to nitrite. I dosed it to 3ppm and then I saw a dip and added a small amount more of ammonia. Now I see it at 1.5-2.5ppm but no nitrate. Is there any other way ammonia disappears?

Seasoldier