Are These Koi Angels Supposed To Have Red Gills?

sross78

Reaction score
I am new to this and as these two have gotten larger I have noticed the more pronounced coloration of red just behind and below the eyes on my koI angelfish. Are these blushing angelfish that are supposed to look this way? or is this a sign of stress or possible illness?

They are not acting stressed in anyway, they both swim to the front of tank every time I walk by, eat like normal etc. The tank conditions are that it is cycling and I am doing everything I can to keep the ammonia levels at .25 ppm or less and using Prime with all water changes and I just started Stability today to see if it will speed up the cycling process.

Thanks

Attachments

Tiny_Tanganyikans

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
That's usually an indication of ammonia poisoning, though it can be caused by other issues. Since your ammonia is high it's more likely the cause. Use 5x prime dose to detoxify and help ammonia poisoining

Tyler Fishman

Reaction score
Experience
5 years
Any trace amount of ammonia is toxic to fish, angelfish are not particularly hardy, and these fish are showing signs of being affected by ammonia, their gills are very red, do a water change, ammonia poisoning is a silent killer, my pleco died due to an ammonia spike instantly back then

OP
sross78

sross78

Reaction score
the ammonia isn't high and has been kept low from day 1. liveaquaria has an almost identical photo of blushing angels on their site. How are mine different?

also, I have been doing 40-60% water changes almost daily. not sure I can do anymore lol. here is the pic from liveaquaria.

Tiny_Tanganyikans

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
The ammonia is high for them, do you see how bright dark red it is? Around their eyes? That's a clear indication.