Are these fish okay for my tank?

• Thread starter aquanoodle
  • Start date

aquanoodle

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting :) I have a shallow 9 gal tank that has almost cycled. It will also have a rather big piece of driftwood with lots of nooks and crannies that I have recently gotten to sink in another tub. I plan to plant it as much as I can, I'll use mostly stem plants since I have inert fine gravel as substrate. I was planning to stock it along the lines of 8 ember tetra, 2 oto catfish, 1 assassin snail and either 2-3 kuhli loaches or panda corydoras. Now I realize this might be heavy stocking but I'll be on top of water changes. The tank is open top, so I was wondering if I could make kuhli loaches work in there. I'm sort of stuck between them and the panda cories. I would appreciate any suggestions and feedback!

Edit: Forgot to add, I have an AquaClear 20 HOB filter.

MacZ

Fishlore VIP
Sorry, to say so, but it's far too small. I wouldn't keep any fish in a tank that size.

Cinnabar

Hi, welcome to fishlore! Sounds like you’ve got a beautiful tank set up, but that’s quite a lot of fish for a small amount of water. You said you have a big piece of driftwood? That could take up a lot of space. Considering the driftwood, substrate, equipment, and the fact that you can fill it all the way to the top, it probably ends up being a lot less than 9 gal of water.

There are still plenty of cool fish you can stock it with though, just not as extensive as your list. Maybe a small group of nano fish, but that’s still stretching it a bit. Definitely no corys, otos, or loaches.

aquanoodle

Cinnabar said: