Are Plants The Cause Of My Problem? Help

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Bama, Apr 11, 2019.

1. BamaValued MemberMember

Need help! I have been stuck on .25 ammonia, with 0 nitrite and about 20 nitrate for the last 5 days.
    Two days ago, I added some filter material from my little tank and some Fluval Biological Booster hoping that would help with ammonia. It did nothing.

Then I read that plants might be adding to the problem? In particular, the Italian val seems to be melting. The other plants had brown spots which can be scrapped off. I just added root tabs today and have lights on for about 12 hours.

Tank has only been running 12 days. I have 6 zebra danios who act very happy, zipping around with occasional chasing games. Tank is 23 gallons (Fluval Vista) and comes with LEDs. It also has a moonlight setting.

Plants: Italian val, Agrophila Compacta Fan, Amazon Sword, Java Fern

Any suggestion on making my plants thrive is appreciated. This is my first attempt at a planted tank and I really would like it to be a success!

Attached Files:

Last edited: Apr 11, 2019
  2. Jack B NimbleValued MemberMember

I believe the test has a variable of plus or minus .25 so the ammonia may be 0. Also I'd say 8 hours good for lights.

3. BamaValued MemberMember

Thanks! I had wondered about the .25 reading being off.

I've been sticking with low light plants thinking that I wouldn't have to worry about CO2. Do you think I could use medium light plants too?

4. LajosValued MemberMember

You may need to monitor your plants.
    Any dying plants may increase ammonia and make it worse for your tank.

Jave Fern is hardy but the rest are not.
    Low light plants is the best in case your light is not enough. If not, more plants may die and create more ammonia.

5. BamaValued MemberMember

Thanks! I did cut off the dying bits on the val this morning. I'll keep monitoring. All I want is a beautiful well planted low-tech tank. Is it the impossible dream?:eek: