Question Are Panda/Peppered/Albino corydoras in a 20 gallon while cycling the tank

Dmandino9991

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I am a beginner and I already have my 20 gallon tank ready. I was wondering whether I could put Corydoras in such an environment and have no casualties. I will use ammo-lock to stop them from dying from ammonia and nitrite. Should I do water changes twice a week if this idea is possible? I am eager to add fish to the tank but want to make sure to take the proper precautions.

OP
Dmandino9991

Dmandino9991

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
redmare said:
No, please don't. If you're super careful they probably will survive, but please just finish your cycle first! You're already doing the best possible thing for your future fish by doing a fishless cycle.
Thank you, I have been trying to do a fish less cycle by putting food in the tank and using API quick start. I have not yet gotten any indications that the cycle is occurring and it has been a week, is that normal? I have been using the API master test kit and have not gotten any readings for nitrite and nitrate but have gotten .25 ppm on ammonia at most.

Nickguy5467

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
if you just started. you can start the process faster by using Dr Tims Amonium Chloride and dose accordingly bump yourself to 3ppm ammonia and cycle process should start faster than waiting for your food to decay and hopefully see some nitrites in a short period, provided you continue with fishless cycle i hope

UnknownUser

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
It is normal for a cycle to take a month or so, one week you definitely won’t see anything. What is your ammonia level reading at? Try to keep it around 3 ppm if there’s no fish in the tank. You don’t even need to do water changes. Just keep the ammonia at 3 ppm and you’re good to go.