Are baby shrimp a problem? What is the case?

Ben777

I want to try to start planted Nano tank for cherry shrimp and a small band of tiny fish (2 or 2,5 cm. ones).

I noticed that many say things like: "remember, your shrimps are going to breed like crazy. It is a wonderful thing and interesting to watch"! And they are talking about nano tanks.

But doesn't nano tank get overcrowded fast? So what happens with all the new shrimp? Why it isn't a problem? Do fish eat them? Or should you catch them (is this even possible? :) ). Or just leave them?

I am new to all this but eager to learn. Please enlighten me!

Flyfisha

Hi Ben777
You may get as many different answers to this question as there are stars in the night sky?

My short answers to your questions in order.

Yes the tank will eventually look overcrowded. At least in the eyes of someone who paid good money for each individual.
The new shrimp just walk around getting bolder and bolder with each generation. Yes some are going to be eaten but with any luck you will have cherry shrimp always.
At some stage it may be a problem in terms of water quality but I have never seen it happen.
Yes all fish eat day old shrimp but from my experience even in community tanks with “hunting species “ of apistogramma some shrimp always survive . Actually I have on many occasion seen adult cherry shrimp push emder tetras , male endlers and small rasboras off the feeding dish.

Only you can decide if a tank looks to busy and you need to sell or give away some?
If you are seriously trying to maintain a solid colour strain you will likely have to cull out lower grade shrimp ?

My suggestion is you have nothing to worry about.
Try hard to keep them alive for 6 months and you will eventually have dozens.

My view of the night sky.
Buy the best colour shrimp you can find not the first you see.
You have nothing to worry about.
An old photo of cherries pushing tetras / endlers around.
275BDB30-48C7-4ED9-8F06-8589D03FDDCD.jpeg

Upvote 0