Aqueon Modular LED... Opinion?

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Honos, Jan 12, 2013.

1. Honos

HonosNew MemberMember

Greetings,

I'm new to fish keeping and am looking to upgrade my light fixture. My current fixture is what came with my tank (18" 15 watt T8 full spectrum fluorescent light). I saw a Aqueon Modular LED for sale in my local fish store, and was wondering if others had any experience with it. It is apparently a fairly new product, but seems like its had good reviews from a google search.

My second question is would this lamp allow for growth of low light plants that don't require CO2? I have absolutely no experience growing plants, but would one day like to move to the next level and do it. I'm still trying to wrap my head around what everything means so please forgive my ignorance.

Here is the product on amazon if you haven't seen it (**note this is the larger size than my tank):

Here is the different light modules that can be purchased for it. Do these work for plant growth?

and

Thank you for your sage wisdom!

Honos

2. ivonko

ivonkoValued MemberMember

hey hones :)

i was also considering getting the aqueon modular LED light strip for my tank, i was curious, how many gallons is your tank and is it a tall or a long tank? after doing a lot of reading i heard both positive and negative things about the LED's so i went with a t5 HO light system instead because i had it on a previous tank and i know it provides excellent light for both fish and plant growth alike :) but if you are set on the LED strip i know the aqueon comes with the one strip but also has room to insert different strips which i would definantly use in order to supply a healthy amount of lights for plants.