Aquatic Photography - A Personal Experience

Slug

Aquatic Photography FAQ

-Let me start out by saying I am not a professional, have taken no classes on photography, and my equipment is all stock, I don't claI'm to be an expert and am just writing this out of personal experience. I am writing this because I have gotten so much great feedback on my work over the years, even when I have been less than satisfied with it. My aims at this article is to possibly encourage more people to just sit down and take pictures of your tank. You will be amazed at all the things you will discover if you just take the time to look. Not that many of us don't spend hours infront our tanks already. Also I would like to show and share with people, some tips about aquatic photography that I have learned over the past few years. I have always been asked many questions that ultimately lead to one main question, "How do you do it?". Well hopefully I can show you how I do it.

Equipment
-First off let me tell you all about the equipment I use, and though it sounds like I have a lot of it, I really don't. Most of my pictures are taken using a Canon 300D camera (Digital Rebel) with a stock 18-55mm lens and onboard flash. Yep that's it, cool huh. The camera may be fancier than most, but the whole equipment list is not and i'm sure you can make it work with any camera (aside from cell phones and small cameras that are just made to get the broad point and not the details in a picture.). I also use a tripod for the longer sessions when I don't want to hold the camera and keep it steady. Something to note is I started with a point and shoot camera, if you see me in person at a fish show or convention, you will probably see me using the point and shoot. Its quick, easy, and these days....the point and shoots are really good cameras. Its not always about how fancy of camera you have. Its not the size of the camera, its how you use it!

Tank Setup and Prep