Aquascaping?

BrandiC

I admit, I am NOT good at it.
How can I make my 75 more appealing?
The fixture on the left can be laid down as well.

430.jpg

Nutter

Adding a background would be a very good start. Probably removing one of the large ornaments & placing the other just off centre would help. If not place both ornaments close together just off centre. Moving the coloured plants to the sides will help or have them bunched around the off centre ornament. Try to have just one focal point in the tank & have that focal point just off centre. A tank that has too many features isn't as attractive as a tank that has one well placed feature.

sirdarksol

My opinion (and it is only opinion) would be to get rid of all of the plastic plants and replace them with real.
You could do rocks or bits of driftwood with your choice (or a mix) of Java fern, Java moss, Christmas moss, and/or anubias.
Depending on the lighting you have, you could do small ceramic pots that have various rooted plants, too.

Also, I would lay the one on the left down and putting it closer to the center, or right up against the side. It looks a little too balanced right now, and looks a bit forced. (Nutter's suggestion on this would work, too) The point is to make it look artfully unbalanced, and leave uneven amounts of empty space.

Nutter

+1 on the live plants. Real is always better than fake but some people just don't want to have live so I didn't mention it.

BrandiC

The background is painted on, I can't change it..

BrandiC

And as it stands I'm planning to switch to live but we live an hour from a pet store and we haven't made amy trips yet. Have an exact names of good live plants?

Lucy

I kind of like it.

BrandiC

sirdarksol

Any of the anubias species would work.
Most of the microsorum species (microsorum pteropus, or Java fern, is the most commonly available)
Vesicularia dubyana (Java moss)
Any of these can be attached to wood or rock.