Aquascaping Newbie! Opinions wanted

1. CLH Initiate Member

Looking for some tips, advice and anything else you can throw at me :)

I've just got a tank I asked for for my birthday! (A bigger one as I have a tiny but tall one to take on a few fish my boss was getting rid of. Just two glowlight terras and a pleco, plus I brought three cherry shrimp) They won't know what to do with themselves when they get their tails in the new one! ;)

My new tank is three foot long, one foot deep and I haven't checked for sure but I'd say two feet high. I did an online thing which told me it works out at 155 litres. (This could be wrong, I'm not very good with this)

However, I want to have a go at aquascaping. They just look beauitful. And even if mine looks half as good I'll be happy!
    I've brought some aquasoil online and am waiting for this to turn up. May need another bag, but I was thinking of putting fine gravel on top.

What does everyone else do? Have you all got something on top of your soil? Or have you just gone for soil alone? Or something under your soil then gravel on top?
    Are there any cheats for bulking this up for hills ect? I did see a clip on youtube of someone using polystyrene, anyone given that a go?

Of course this boils down to, if I do go with a gravel on top, which colour do you find looks the best? I'm torn between black or brown! I was thinking of having a light coloured sand trail that gets thin towards the back.
    (Or are you sitting there thinking "Gravel? no, sand all the way!")

All views welcome, my ears are open for anything you care to share :)

p.s

My aim is to go mainly with the shrimps... I mean... come on, they are just so cool to watch, but I would like some sort of fish shoal as well, not sure just what yet, hopfully the two lonely tetra will join in too, and Brian the Pleco (bristlenose) will carry on doing his thing...

2. peregrine Member Member

Welcome to the forums.