Aquascaping Help And Advice!

Tomato the Betta

Hello everybody! Here is a pic of my new tank. No fish yet (cycling). This is my first time keeping live plants, so I’m super nervous about them dying. Any ideas on how to make this tank more ideal for a betta in the future? Also, I’m noticing some of my plants are turning a little brown… which really scares me! Any help on that would be great as well!

Attachments

• A9D08616-1512-40DE-BCA5-946803380101.jpeg
    A9D08616-1512-40DE-BCA5-946803380101.jpeg
    198.2 KB · Views: 28

BruinAquatics

Hi and welcome to the world of live plants and aqua scaping!!

What species of plants are those?

They look to be
vallesneria (or dwarf sag),
bacopa,
and possibly myrio green or water wisteria.

Candace

Most of the time plants to die off a bit after they are introduced to a new tank, if you see any leaves/parts on the plant really turning brown just pluck/trim them off. For a betta they love having leaves near the surface of the tank, you could attach Java ferns to the spiderwood using black thread to give them that "bed". I'd also add a couple of hides (one near the top and one near the bottom). Personally I love the coconut caves that attach to the glass on etsy. And floating plants are always a hit with bettas, some dwarf water lettuce would be cool, the only thing is they grow fast so it'd be best to use air tubing (cheap at walmart/petco) to turn into a "feeding ring" to keep some of the surface clear for the betta to get air and eat.

JuiceKong