Aquarium salt

1. H

Hamham New Member Member

I have a freshwater 20 gallon tank but I'm thinking to use the jungle Aquarium salt for my fish( you know how it helps with stress and stuff) but I've never used it before so plz tell me how to use it?? Do I do it with water change or what??

2. AquaticBrandon

AquaticBrandon Well Known Member Member

There's no need to add aquarium salt to your tank. I would only add salt to a tank if you were quarantining a sick fish

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

3. PuffPuff

PuffPuff Well Known Member Member

yeah don't do it, I did it recently, being uneducated on the stuff and one of my fish instantly started acting up, the usual slowly dying symptom. just don't use it unless you are going to OT a sick fish

4. lily potter1223

lily potter1223 Valued Member Member

Agree with the above ^^ And plants don't do well in salt water anyways. I think mollies do better with salt in the tank.. but I'm not sure.

5. ClearEyes

ClearEyes Well Known Member Member

Yup, no need for it. I've heard some people don't even prescribe it for sick fish.

6. Anders247

Anders247 Fishlore Legend Member

No need for it at all. Even when fish are sick, imo, there are far better treatments.
    Some fish are sensitive to salt, too. It can cause more harm than good.

7. LiterallyHydro

LiterallyHydro Well Known Member Member

With Anders. Even when treating ich I don't use salt. I use heat and Rid Ich Plus.

8. kidster9700

kidster9700 Well Known Member Member

I was using aquarium salt for my Molly fry just to have in there and it was fine until I did a water change and wasn't able to match salinity. 12 of them died in two days. So yeah, don't do aquarium salt unless you really need to

9. Anders247

Anders247 Fishlore Legend Member

10. AquaticBrandon

AquaticBrandon Well Known Member Member

I agree, freshwater fish don't really need it

11. EricV

EricV Fishlore VIP Member