Aquarium Salt for Freshwater Fishies?

LnX

Reaction score
Dear Group,

I'm new to keeping my own aquarium and I've been doing all sorts of reading, research, etc., and one thing that's confusing to me is the balance of praise / indifference / outright rejection of the use of freshwater aquarium salt. Its use was advised by one of the employees at the pet store and the reading I did seemed to endorse this view. On one of the other discussion threads, I read that this type of salt was okay for most fish, but not plecos, etc., which may explain why my new pleco died his first night in an otherwise healthy-seeming tank. What's the collective wisdom here? I thought I was helping my fish and their environment ... Help!

Thanks,
LnX

Isabella

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
I do not see why a freshwater aquarium would need any salt, really. Unless your freshwater fish are sick, you do not need the salt. Aquarium salt should only be used in freshwater tanks when fish are sick to help eradicate a disease.

LnX

Reaction score
Thanks, Isabella! I'm going to stop adding the salt with water changes now. I initially thought it sounded strange because as a kid, I kept a healthy 10 gallon tank for years (with help from Mom and Dad!) ;D , but never bothered with it. Do you think it might've killed the Pleco?

0morrokh

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
If you are taking out the salt be sure to do so gradually. Going from lots of salt to no salt all at once is a shock to the fish. Each water change add a bit less salt to the new water until finally you are adding none at all.

It's true there are varying views on salt. I have not made up my mind about it. Most fishkeepers just don't use it cause it's not necessary and it is just one more thing to hassle with.