Aquarium room build with pictures - advice welcome

Discussion in 'DIY - Do It Yourself' started by Sebastian, Dec 26, 2012.

1. SebastianNew MemberMember

Hi, my name is Sebastian and I have been keeping and breeding fish for over two decades. I always dreamed of building a nice aquarium rack ‘breeding station’. Life has settled down a bit and I am finally able to dive into the project. Here is a picture of the setup I am building right now:

[​IMG]

The stand is pretty much complete; I will just stain and seal it over the next couple of days. The two lower levels will hold six 10 gallon tanks each, and the upper level four 20 gallon tanks for a total water volume of 200 gallons. I would like to make maintenance of this system as easy as possible and have been reading about different solutions for the filtration, water changes, and would love some input from you guys.

Since I will not be specializing in a particular region I would like to keep the water from all of the tanks separate, otherwise I would be tempted to go with a large sump system and circle it all back into the tanks. I am pretty sure that I will use an air system with sponge filters to do the primary filtration and aeration of the tanks.