Aquarium newb planning a 10-15gal tank for betta - need suggestions

Chime
Hello,

As the title suggests, I'm new to the aquarium hobby and am making plans for my first tank: a planted 10 or 15gal for a male betta and possibly some other critters.

I currently have my eyes on the Aqueon 15gal Column Aquarium stand and tank kit because it's more narrow, but if I can make a few more inches of space I'm also looking at a 10gal kit and stand.

Some questions I have...

What would make good tank mates for a betta? Since this is my first aquarium, the hardier the better. I'm considering a snail as one possibility. Any breed suggestions?

What plants do you suggest/what are easy to care for? I don't want to have to get an extra light for plants that need more light, and I don't know how much light the kits I'm looking at provide, so low-light plant suggestions are preferred.

Any other suggestions or advice you might have is more than welcome. I'm sure I'll need it.

Thanks!

Aster
Save yourself the regret and don't get the 15 gallon column. It is too narrow for most fish and limits your choices. The 10 gallon may actually offer you more variety.

Are you absolutely set on a betta? If you want a betta community tank, at least 20 gallons is the standard. Anything smaller and the tension will build up quickly.

Easy plants are hornwort, anacharis, anubias, java fern, water wisteria, and water sprite.

https://www.fishlore.com/aquariumfishforum/threads/stocking-list-for-10-gallons.207629/

TexasDomer
You can keep shrimp and snails with your betta though!

Do you know about the nitrogen cycle?

Chime
I've read a little bit about it, but nothing too in-depth. I'll definitely read up on it in more detail before actually throwing anything in. Thanks!

Chime
Save yourself the regret and don't get the 15 gallon column. It is too narrow for most fish and limits your choices. The 10 gallon may actually offer you more variety.