29 Gallon Tank Aquarium cycling, nitrites, and soft water

benlacy2112

Hey all, bit of a noob here. Here's the full back story so I can cover as many of the details as possible.

Bought a 10 gallon tank (standard crappy TopFin starter kit from PetSmart). Did some research on cycling before getting fish, and landed on getting six Zebra Danios. No live plants, but plenty of half height fake plants and decorations (treasure chests, etc) for them to hide in and around.

Before getting the fish, I went through the cycling process (as far as I could tell) for roughly a week and a half. I used Top Fin water conditioner every time I added/changed water, and Tetra SafeStart plus (full 8 oz bottle first time I filled the tank.) I used the API Freshwater master test kit to check levels at least once a day. (For GH and KH I used the API test strips.) Every bit of water that comes into my house (including outside faucets, according to my measurements) is softened with a RainSoft EC5 water softening system. I live in Cincinnati, OH in the US.

On day 1, these were the numbers from the conditioned tap water:

pH: 8.0
GH: ~30
KH: ~60
Ammonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: ~5

I know these numbers can fluctuate, so I've been testing my tap water at least every 3 days or so alongside my normal tank water testing to see how consistent they are. The numbers from both inside and outside water faucets remained extremely close to these numbers at every testing. The only deviation I ever saw was the pH ranged between 7.5 and 8.8 or so. The temperature inside the tank itself was kept at 72F.