Question Aquaponics tank

txunamy

Reaction score
HI there,
I'm new to keeping a freshwater tank, and have had this tank running for about a month. I'd like to introduce some shrimp, maybe start with some ghost shrimp so I'm not spending a lot while I learn, and eventually get some cherry shrimp or blue dreams. I have live plants, moss balls, and 3 nerite snails.

The tank seems to be cycled, its been running for about a month. I've done 3 water changes (about 30% each time). I've attached some pictures of my tank, it's a 3 gallon aquaponics tank from Back to The Roots. There's microgreens growing out of the top, and the roots act as a biofilter. The aquatic plants are all doing well and putting on new growth and roots. I have: Bolbitis heteroclita (has formed new little baby plantlets on the leaves!), Alternanthera reineckiI mini, Ludwigia arcuatea, lacey javafern, Abubias microcarpaea minima, and a few moss balls :). I add Flourish drops for micronutrients (6 drops every other day or so) for the plants. And when I do water changes I use aquarium salt (1/2 tsp/gallon). I'm going to get a couple oak leaves tomorrow, boil them and add to the tank.

Before I get shrimp, is there anything else you all think I should do? Anything you'd recommend with keeping shrimp/snails in this tank?

Thanks for your feedback, looking forward to your thoughts here.

Attachments

Blueberrybetta

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
4 years