Aquaclear 50 Has Strong Current

1. Ravynn

Ravynn Member Member

I've got an Aquaclear 50 on my 20 long. I have it on the lowest setting with a Fluval pre-filter sponge on the intake and it's still blowing around the plants in front of the filter and the fish struggle when trying to swim upwards. I'd like to keep surface agitation and i haven't been able to figure out a way to lessen the current that drops straight down.

Any ideas?

2. Adrian Burke

Adrian Burke Member Member

How many gallons is the tank

3. dwarfpufferlover

dwarfpufferlover Well Known Member Member

Hello,
    I use filter floss on my 20 long to baffle the filter and catch debris, it is also an ac 50.

There is another method that involves cutting plastic from a water bottle. There is tons of videos of YouTube for it. I have never done it before.

4. OP
    OP
    Ravynn

Ravynn Member Member

Hi! Where do you put the filter floss, is it just in the media compartment?

5. dwarfpufferlover

dwarfpufferlover Well Known Member Member

pretty much wherever you want for your needs. I place mine at the top so I can see when it needs to be changed and as a last "catch" for anything.

6. Thunder_o_b

Thunder_o_b Fishlore VIP Member

I have to admit to being completely baffled at the many threads of people saying they have trouble with current flow with 10x or less the water column in their aquariums. I have over 700 GPH (HOB and canister) in a 37 gallon guppy aquarium with plants (one is a Madagascar lace) and everyone is doing very well. My other aquariums are filtered at the same or higher rate.

I do not get it.

What fish do you have that are struggling with your water flow?

7. OP
    OP
    Ravynn

Ravynn Member Member