10 Gallon Tank Aqua Clear heater

proudtobeafarmgirl

Just another question that I have had rolling through my head for awhile...

I have no experience with aquarium heaters and actually am scared of them - fish or me getting electrocuted, malfunctioning while I am at work and fish are boiled when I get home, what happens in a power outage?.....

There was an Aqua Clear heater for a 10 gallon tank in the store on sale for $30, regular $44 bucks. Since I have had good luck with Aqua Clear filters and there is a knob on the top to visibly see the temp you want it set at I am quite intersted in this heater but wanted to know if anyone has one and how they like it.

Jrobber

I have an Aquaclear heater for my 29g. Love it. I set the dial and it stays at the same temperature. There should be an orange light that comes on when the heater is on, but I've noticed my very little. I've had it in my tank for 3 months now and no problems.

If you are worried about electrocution during water changes, unplug your heater 20-30 minutes before you do a water change. I've put my hand in my tank even with the heater still going strong and haven't been shocked.

But I do live life on the wild side......sometimes.

Aquarist

Good morning,

I think heaters are a nightmare/worry for every aquarist at one point or another. However they are necessary to maintain a steady temperature for tropical fish, unless you live in a really warm area.

Try not to worry too much. Make sure your heater is submersible before you place it under the water. If it's a hang on back heater do NOT submerse it. Follow the directions on the heater. Once you place it into the tank, wait 30 minutes before you plug it in. This gives the thermostat time to adjust to the water temperature. Be sure to unplug the heater at least 20 minutes before doing a water change. Do not turn your heater on if it isn't in the water.