Anyone spare a second?

LarryDavid

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Im a real beginner on this sort of thing and im buying my first tank for the first time and ive picked out the fish, would you be kind enough to give me a little info and opinon of if these fish would get along and maybe what kind of enviorment would be best for them all :

1 Rainbow Shark
1 Symese Fighter Fish
1 CrayFish
1 Male Guppy
1 Female Guppy
4 Clown Loach
1 male swordtail
2 Female SwordTails
1 Male African Butterfly Fish
2 Female African Butterfly Fish

A reply would be great

Isabella

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
Welcome to Fish lore Chris It's good that you've decided to inquire about fish compatibility first, before setting up a tank. Please take your time to also learn about the nitrogen cycle, if you haven't done so already. Here is an article about it: https://www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm . You should read these articles as well: https://www.fishlore.com/Beginners.htm .

Now, how large a tank are you planning to have?

I do not know much about many of the fish you've listed, but I do know that for a rainbow shark you'll need a larger tank. I also don't think the shark will be peaceful toward other fish. Not sure about betta (Siamese fighting fish) mixed with all these fish as well. I'm sure Butterfly, Gunnie, or Chickadee all will be able to help you with this fish list. So be patient And while you're planning the fish list, make sure you understand what the nitrogen cycle is all about and what you'll need to do in order to safely cycle your tank.

Once you've learned about the cycle, you'll know why you'll need a test kit (tests for ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate being the most important ones). pH test is important as well.

chickadee

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years