Anyone Know What Kind Of Diffuser This Is?

Discussion in 'Plant CO2' started by TheBettaSushi, May 19, 2019.

1. TheBettaSushi Well Known Member Member

I was looking at some aquascape ideas and came across this YouTube video. Near the end of it, I saw that this co2 diffuser mists gas (??) instead of your typical bubble diffuser.

Anyone know what this diffuser is? Does it require anything specific in order for it to work unlike the other bubble diffusers on the market?

Sorry if I sound stupid... I’m new to co2 and I’m looking into co2 equipment that I’d like to incorporate in my setup.

Here’s a photo I snapped from the creator of this tank... it’s gorgeous and it’s something that I might want to replicate.
    33329F01-F4B6-48BC-8D01-A5F4035BB4ED.png

Attached Files:

2. Bot Well Known Member Member

Not co2. Algae inhibitor(twinstar m3).

3. TheBettaSushi Well Known Member Member

Aha!!!! I seriously thought it was a co2 diffuser lol shows you how much I know about these things. Thanks!

Is it even necessary?

4. Bot Well Known Member Member

Nope

5. -Mak- Fishlore VIP Member

Not necessary, it's kind of confusing how they work too but those who use them claim they work

Then again it's mostly experienced aquascapers/planted tank owners who use them and those are the people who are more likely to be able to control algae anyways :D

6. TheBettaSushi Well Known Member Member

Hmm... doesn’t sound too promising and apparently only works the way it’s supposed to on new setups that haven’t accumulated algae growth yet.

I’m wondering if a uv sterilizer would be a better choice? I’ve read that uv sterilizes kill algae. Please correct me if I’m wrong.

7. -Mak- Fishlore VIP Member

I'm not familiar with them, but I'm guessing they only kill green water algae since those are the ones that go through the filter? Really not sure, sorry!

8. Fahn Fishlore VIP Member