Anyone Have Experience With These Filters? Question

1. littlesnete

littlesnete Valued Member Member

My budget for filtration for my 300 gallon stock tank pond is about $150. I'll probably upgrade in the future, but for now I need to get some fish from indoors into an outdoor pond and this is all I can afford.

I found some filters on Amazon with about 70-80% 5 star reviews, for pretty cheap (less than $100). Does anyone have experience with these filters?

Best Choice Products 4000 Liter Pressure Bio Filter with Uv Sterilizer Light Koi, 13W

Grech CPF-2500 Pond Bio Pressure Filter UVC 13-watt Up to 1600 Gallons

2. Rojer Ramjet

Rojer Ramjet Well Known Member Member

I've no experience with those two brands, but they're nothing more than cheap Chinese imitations of high-end filters like the Fluval FX series and pond pump systems.

As with anything in this, or any other hobby, you get what you pay for; Chinese stuff ain't good.

3. OP
    OP
    littlesnete

How do you know they're chinese imitations? Just wondering. The reviews are all outstanding, except for a few 1 stars, but they all sound like user errors to me, lol.

4. Rojer Ramjet

Rojer Ramjet Well Known Member Member

Because they're made in China and they look identical to the name brands - China don't respect intellectual property rights...

What more do I need to know other than it looks like a rip-off, it's priced as a rip-off, and it's made in China?

5. OP
    OP
    littlesnete

Nothing at all, I was just genuinely curious and wanted tips on how to spot it in the future. I'm new to all of this so I couldn't see if they were identical to other name brands - I don't know what name brands look like. :p

6. Goldiemom

Goldiemom Well Known Member Member