Anybody Know What Is Causing This

Discussion in 'Aquarium Plants' started by Aquaholic3, Apr 11, 2017.

1. Aquaholic3

Aquaholic3 Valued Member Member

Hi guys.

I am starting to get more into the planted side of the hobby and I am still very new to it all. I have had a tank setup for a few months and it has been doing well so far.

It seemed to have happened almost over night. I did a PWC and added some epsom salt 1 tsp to a 18.5g tank as my betta was bloated (he is doing well now).

I have seachem root tabs and i have a 24w LED full spectrum light. The tank has a decent number of fish but never much nitrates, around 5ppm at most. Temp is around 77f.

Here is a picture, if somebody could tell me what causes this or needs more information just let me know.
    20170412_012721.jpg
    20170412_012736.jpg
    The rest of the plants are doing ok Val is growing like a weed, the Anubias is looking good.

Thanks for any help it is always appreciated.

2. BeanFish

BeanFish Well Known Member Member

The plant had some dark spots which made me believe it was already damaged.
    When plants are damaged that happens to them, sometimes it takes a little while to start dying off but once it starts the dying off process is relatively fast, it has happened to me too.
    I would not stress about it unless it happens to all your leafs.
    Just trim it off (directly from the stem if possible), it will encourage new growth.

3. Gourami-28

Gourami-28 Valued Member Member

Hi, it may be a sign of pest snails in your tank

4. oOBlueOo

oOBlueOo Well Known Member Member

It looks like it was eaten. I have to agree with snails as the culprit. Or if you have a pleco, that could be eating it, too.

5. BeanFish

Really? The plant looks like it was already melting? I have a bunch of pest snails in a tank and no leaf in my tank looks like that.

6. oOBlueOo

oOBlueOo Well Known Member Member