Any help appreciated!!!!

Discussion in 'Saltwater Beginners' started by guppygirl30, Jul 7, 2015.

1. g

guppygirl30 New Member Member

I just purchased a 155 gallon tank. I would like to make this a saltwater tank and make this a hobby. I have never done this before but have always been fascinated by fish and aquariums in general. I have saved up money to be able to purchase the items needed to make this happen. I have done some research on how to begin and things that are recommend that I should get. Long story short I figure I need someone with experience to help me set this up and learn how to properly maintain this hobby. I am excited to learn. Right now I need to know what filter would be good to use and other items I should get. Thanks for any replys.

2. Dom90

Dom90 Fishlore VIP Member

3. AquaticBrandon

AquaticBrandon Well Known Member Member

Welcome to Fishlore! :). I would run a sump and a really good skimmer for a tank this size. Are you planning to do a FOWLR tank? Water movement is really important in saltwater. Some really good strong powerheads should work.

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

4. OP
    OP
    g

Brandon

I did some research on the Fowlr aquarium... N decided that was prob. Best for me as a beginner. Where could I purchase a sump suitable for the tank...I went out to few places pricing things but they didn't really have the size I needed.

5. AquaticBrandon

A FOWLR tank is the way to go for a beginner. My tank started as a FOWLR tank and later to a reef. If you can't find the size of sump that you want, You can build your own sump. I've seen many people build very nice sumps. A pretty big sump should be good for this tank, the sump needs space for a skimmer, heater, and all other equipment. You can also do a refugium.

6. LiterallyHydro

LiterallyHydro Well Known Member Member

I must be the go-to guy for first time reef/FOWLR setups.. ;D