Any Betta Experts Know What Type My Boy Is?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by FloydtheBetta, Apr 20, 2019.

1. FloydtheBettaValued MemberMember

Not 100% sure what type of Betta I have. He was sold as a butterfly Betta but I can’t find much about them online and to me he looks like a doubletail halfmoon.

Just thought it would be fun to see if you guys have any ideas.

Attached Files:

2. BReefer97Well Known MemberMember

I’m not an expert but from what I understand butterfly means super delta. And yours does look like a super delta :) he may be a half moon but I know he’s not a double tail.

3. RtessyFishlore VIPMember

Seems delta, I think butterfly is the pattern, also seems to be a partially formed double tail with that odd crimping? How unusual, I guess your boy doesn't fit well into any category!

4. FloydtheBettaValued MemberMember

That makes sense! I’ve seen somewhere butterfly refers to the color pattern being a different color around the rim (in his case red). And he’s definitely got a little bit of a partially formed double tail, as his tail appears almost halfmoon but comes in a bit at the middle without completely splitting into two.

I guess I just have a unique little guy. <3

5. RepolieWell Known MemberMember

I don't understand where you get this information from. Butterfly is a more common term for a type of colouration, not tail type.
    He is a doubletail betta. You can tell because of the shortened body length, longer anal/dorsal fin, and you can kind of see the two lobes of the caudal fin. If you can see him flare you can tell if he's a doubletail halfmoon or delta.

6. FloydtheBettaValued MemberMember

He loves to flare at the filter so I see him do a few minutes of flaring usually 2-3 times a day when he decides to be playful. What signs should I be looking for?

I’ll try to get a pic of him doing it if possible.

Thanks for the info! It seems you’re definitely onto it.

7. RepolieWell Known MemberMember