Any Advice? Help

Discussion in 'Aquarium Plants' started by allieleap101, Aug 23, 2019.

1. allieleap101

allieleap101New MemberMember

Ratings:
    +1
    Hello I’m new to fresh aquariums and I’m finally feeling confident enough to start phasing into planted aquariums. Right now I have a Anubias and java fern that I’m about to put in on some drift wood and lava rock. I’m trying to use plants that do not require me to have a co2 canister or fertilizer tabs. But any advice would be great for a beginner that I should know about. Or is there anything that I should know that you wish to have known before starting planted aquariums?

Thanks!

2. Crispii

CrispiiWell Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +1,301
  3. OP
    OP
    allieleap101

Ratings:
    +1
  4. CastleGrayskull

CastleGrayskullValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +56
    Experience:
    5 to 10 years
    I have a lot of experience with plants and have found that, often enough, CO2 isn't necessary, especially if you're using an air pump. As for fertilizer tabs, have you considered using potting soil as a first layer for your substrate with gravel over top? Soil will fertilize your plants plenty.

5. altwitch

altwitchNew MemberMember

Ratings:
    +21
    We've been running our 120g planted for about a year now and the plants have not been high maintenance. I asked my LFS aquarium guru about CO2 and ferts and his advice was "add it if looks like it's becoming necessary but wait to see evidence of issues." So far so good. There are a couple species I've had issues with like Ludwigia Peruensis due to needing a bit more attention/light, but have 17 species in the tank that are thriving now. The top three things I think are contributing factors to our relative success:
    1. Lighting - Have 2x Finnex Planted+ 24/7 lights that cycle through light states to simulate natural light; very pleased with them but can't compare/contrast as I liked it well enough I got them for all 3 tanks